Millennium Post

Celebrating cinematic excellence

A warm farewell to Delhi International Film Festival (DIFF) 2014 was given by many eminent personalities like Tigmanshu Dhulia, Meera, Taslima Nasreen, Khalid Mahmood Mithu, OP Mishra (director of NDMC), Vinod Goyal (Commissioner of Customs in Central Exercise), Sangeeta Gupta (Commissioner of Income Tax), Bouthaina Al (Deputy Chief of Mission Morocco Embassy, India), Rajeev Gupta (actor) and Bharati Taneja. A total of 28 awards in various categories that includes films, art, literature, photography and fashion were given at the grand finale that took place at NDMC Convention Centre in the Capital.

The closing ceremony began with National Award Winner Filmmaker, Tigmanshu Dhulia receiving Special Honor award for his contribution to Indian Cinema. Tigmanshu who is the brand ambassador and founder member for DIFF, addressed the media and stressed upon the fact of creating a film city in Delhi and the support the kid on the block DIFF 2014.

On receiving the best actress Award Meera Ali, expressed herself, “I am glad to receive this Award at the Delhi International Film Festival, I am thankful to India for giving me this award, my first award by India. I was honoured with many awards in my country Pakistan, but here I am really grateful to Ram Kishore Parcha ji for honouring me and all credit  goes to Khalid who made a fabulous film”.

DIFF 2014 was planned as an eight Day event and showcased 250 films from more than 45 nations. It was an initiative by ‘The Social Circle, A Society for Cause and - A step toward inclusiveness’ to showcase the best of Cinema, Art and Literature from across the globe.

Started in the year 2012, the advisory board for this festival is headed by Dada Sahab Phalke awardee Adoor Gopal Krishnan. Working closely with him are some of the greats of Indian Cinema namely  National award winning director Tigmanshu Dhulia, Anurag Kashyap, Anooj Kapoor, Mohan Agashe, Manoj Bajpai,  Shriram Raghwan, N. Chandra, Sandeep Marwah, Shailesh Loadha, , Arvind Gaur  with Jamal Shah and Satish Anand from Pakistan.

Awards was given in various competitive categories as the 'Life Time Achievement Award’ was presented to Subhash Ghai, ‘Special Honour Award’ to veteran actor Biswajeet and a special award called ‘Minar-e-Dilli’ was  conferred to Olympic Medallist,   Sushil Kumar.

The festival began with Ilan Yagoda’s Israeli film The Neighbourhood and a short Greek film The Sun and The Wind directed by Thansis Neophotolistos. Critically acclaimed film, Zinda Bhaag from Pakistan starring Naseeruddin Shah and directed by Meenu Gaur was the closing film for this edition of the festival. The festival also screened films on social issues, book launches, and workshops on wildlife photography and animation and special Seminar to promote Delhi as Film City.

Next Story
Share it