Millennium Post

CBI court gives death to 3 cops after 31 yrs

A special CBI court on Friday gave capital punishment to three policemen and life imprisonment to five other cops in connection with a 1982 police encounter in Madhopur area in Gonda district in which 13 people, including a deputy superintendent of police (Dy SP) KP Singh, was killed.

Special CBI judge Rajendra Singh announced the punishment on Friday after convicting all eight policemen accused in the case on 29 March last. All eight are currently in jail.

The special judge handed capital punishment to the then SHO of Madhopur police station RB Saroj, head constable Ram Naik and constable Ram Karan. The five persons who were given life imprisonment are sub-inspectors Naseem Ahmed, Mangal Singh, Parvej Hussain, Rajendra Prasad Singh and head constable Prem Narain Pandey.

In all, 19 people were made accused in the encounter in which 10 people died during the trial while one head constable Prem Singh have been relieved of all charges.

The encounter took place on 13 March, 1982 when Dy SP K P Singh was killed. The then SP of Gonda, Yashpal Singh, had claimed the police officer was felled by a criminal’s bullet.  However, the Dy SP’s wife Vibha Singh said it was a well-orchestrated murder by local police personnel as they were not happy with her husband. The local officers then refused to take cognisance of the matter after which Vibha Singh moved HC which ordered a CBI probe.
Next Story
Share it