Millennium Post

Worldsteel elects JSW CMD Sajjan Jindal as its treasurer

New Delhi: Global body World Steel Association (worldsteel) on Thursday said it has elected JSW Steel CMD Sajjan Jindal as its treasurer.

The association has also appointed Tata Steel MD T V Narendran and ArcelorMittal Chief L N Mittal as its members.

"The Board of Directors yesterday (Wednesday) elected officers for 2018/2019 at the worldsteel General Assembly in Toyko, Japan. The new officers are elected for a one-year period," the global steel body said in a statement Thursday.

The board has elected Andre Johannpeter, Executive VC of Gerdau S A, as the Chairman, the body said. YU Yong (Chairman HBIS Group) and Kosei Shindo (Representative Director, Nippon Steel and Sumitomo Metal Corporation) have been elected to the post of Vice-Chairman. CMD of Indian steel giant JSW Steel, Sajjan Jindal, has been elected as the Treasurer of worldsteel, the statement said.

The board, worldsteel said, also elected a 13-member Executive Committee.

Jindal, Shindo, Yong and Johannpeter were also elected as the members of the committee. Tata Steel's Managing Director T V Narendran and NRI steel baron Lakshmi Niwas Mittal were also elected as a members.

Besides, Wolfgang Eder of voestalpine AG, John Ferriola of Nucor Corporation and Koji Kakigi of JFE Steel Corporation were elected to the committee as members.

Next Story
Share it