Millennium Post

Bureaucratic reshuffle: Coal secy, NHAI chief replaced

Coal Secretary Anil Swarup was appointed School Education Secretary as part of a top-level bureaucratic reshuffle effected on Wednesday.

As many as 19 new secretaries have been appointed in various central government departments.

Swarup, a 1981 batch IAS officer, has been appointed as Secretary, Department of School Education and Literacy, an order issued by Department of Personnel and Training said.

Susheel Kumar has been appointed new Coal Secretary. He is at present Secretary, Department of Border Management, Ministry of Home Affairs. 

Sanjeevanee Kutty, Special Secretary and Financial Adviser in Home Ministry, has been appointed as Secretary, Department of Border Management in place of Kumar.

NHAI Chairman Raghav Chandra has been named Secretary, National Commission for Scheduled Tribes. Yudhvir Singh Malik, Special Secretary in Niti Aayog, will be new chairman of National Highway Authority of India (NHAI) in place of Chandra.

Senior bureaucrat Rajiv Yadav will be Secretary, Ministry of Parliamentary Affairs in place of Prabhas Kumar Jha, who has been appointed as Secretary, Department of Official Language. Yadav, who is Secretary in Department of Sports, has been replaced by Injeti Srinivas, Director General of Sports Authority of India.

Anoop Kumar Srivastava, who is Secretary, Department of Official Language, will be Secretary, Ministry of Tribal Affairs.

Ameising Luikham, Secretary, Department of Public Enterprises (DPE), has been appointed as Officer on Special Duty in Minority Affairs Ministry. He will take over as Secretary of the same department on superannuation of present incumbent Rakesh Garg, the order said.

Seema Bahuguna, Special Secretary and Financial Adviser in Department of Rural Development, will be new Secretary, DPE.

Senior IAS officers Preeti Sudan and K P Krishnan have been appointed as Secretaries of Department of Food and Public Distribution, and Ministry of Skill Development and Entrepreneurship.

Sudan is Special Secretary in Women and Child Development Ministry and Krishnan is Special Secretary, Department of Land Resources.

N S Kang, Secretary and Director General in National AIDS Control Organisation, has been named as Secretary, Department of Empowerment of Persons with Disabilities.
Next Story
Share it