Millennium Post

BJP wins all Himachal seats

The BJP on Friday made a clean sweep in Himachal winning all the four Lok Sabha seats with a massive margin besides wresting the Sujanpur assembly seat where by-election was held simultaneously. Former Himachal chief minister Shanta Kumar defeated Congress’ Chander Kumar by 1,70,072 votes to recored his fourth win from the Kangra constituency. He polled 4,56,163 votes in comparison to Chander Kumar’s 2,86,091 votes.

The Congress received a major jolt in Mandi seat where BJP’s greenhorn Ram Swaroop Sharma defeated the sitting Congress MP and wife of chief minister Pratibha Singh by 39856 votes whereas CPI(M) candidate Kushal Thakur polled 13965 votes.

BJP candidate Anurag Thakur, son of former chief minister PK Dhumal retained the Hamirpur seat defeating his nearest rival Rajinder Singh Rana by 98,330 votes while Kamal Kanta Batra, mother of Kargil martyr who contested as AAP candidate polled only 15,316 votes.

Virender Kashyap(BJP) retained the Shimla(Reserve) Parliamentary seat, defeating Mohan Lal Brakata of Congress, a sitting MLA from Rohroo by 84198 votes while AAP candidate Subhash Chander and CPI (M) candidate Jagat Ram polled 14,213 and 11,424 votes.

Next Story
Share it