Millennium Post

BJP unlikely to repeat ‘08 outcome in Bangalore

BJP unlikely to repeat ‘08 outcome in Bangalore
Saddled with perceptible anti- incumbency sentiments, the ruling BJP is expected to yield ground in Bangalore urban areas that account for a significant 28 seats in the May five Assembly elections.

In the 2008 elections, the party had bagged 17 of those seats under the leadership of B S Yeddyurappa and on the back of a ‘sympathy factor’ after the JDS refused to hand over power to the party, reneging on its promise on the coalition.

This time, there are no such factors in its favour. Yeddyurappa formed his own party Karnataka Janatha Paksha (KJP) last year after walking out of BJP, and may dent the ruling party's prospects in the city.

The Congress had bagged ten seats and the JDS of former Prime Minister H D Deve Gowda just one in the previous elections to the 224-member Assembly.

The crisis on the solid waste disposal front which lingered on for many weeks in parts of the city is still fresh on the minds of Bangaloreans, and the BJP which was at the helm of affairs in the Bangalore City Corporation had received flak over the inept handling of the issue.

The ‘face’ of KJP in the city is undoubtedly the former Chief Minister's protege Shobha Karandlaje, who is taking on ‘seasoned’ Law and Parliamentary Affairs Minister S Suresh Kumar in Rajajinagar.

Shobha, who had served the BJP government as Energy Minister, as also Rural Development and Panchayat Raj Minister in the Yeddyurappa cabinet, had won from the neighbouring Yeshwantpur constituency in 2008. The segment is among those being keenly watched.


More than 50,000 central paramilitary forces personnel will be deployed during the forthcoming Assembly elections in Karnataka to ensure free and fair polls. The Centre has earmarked a total of 52,500 security personnel (525 companies) drawn from various paramilitary forces like CRPF, ITBP and BSF to keep strict vigil and ensure peace during the polling process in the southern state. Voting will take place on 5 May for the 224-member Karnataka Assembly. The number of the central forces was finalised recently by the EC after a meeting with senior officials of the Union Home Ministry. All the security personnel have already reached Karnataka and are on the process of reaching their designated places.


Our contributor helps bringing the latest updates to you

Share it