BJP to restructure committees up to booth level

The BJP has three MLAs including the president of the state unit, Dilip Ghosh who defeated veteran Congress leader Gyan Singh Sohanpal popularly known as Chacha in Kharagapur Sadar assembly constituency seat.

Ghosh who was an RSS leader was made the state president by party’s All India president Amit Shah in November, 2015. He replaced Rahul Sinha who had completed his three year term as the president. But with Sinha’s departure, his associates like Asim Sarkar, Ritesh Tewari and some others were removed from various posts.

 Sarkar was one of the general secretaries and Tewari who had contested from Chowringhee Assembly seat was the party’s spokesperson.

Attempts are on to bring them back and rehabilitate them and engage them in important assignments. Shamik Bhattacharya who was elected in a by election from Basirhat in November 2014 is not seen in party office on Muralidhar Sen Lane.

Though over 30 lakh primary members had enrolled by sending SMS, the programme to interview them and train some of them did not take place. So, this big force could not be utilised during the Assembly election.

Senior party leaders said the state unit was gearing up for Panchayat election scheduled to be held in 2018 and Lok sabha poll in 2019.

“We may not do very well in the panchayat election where the vote will be conducted by state police, but in 2019 election, the fight will be between us and Trinamool and in 2021, the battle will be between BJP and TMC for power”, a senior party leader said.


Our contributor helps bringing the latest updates to you

Share it