Millennium Post

BJP to kick off poll campaign from Mahoba on October 24

After Congress vice-president Rahul Gandhi’s month-long ‘Kisan Yatra’, now BJP is going to kick off its poll campaign in the Uttar Pradesh through eight mega rallies across the state starting from Mahoba on October 24. Among those four mega rallies have been slated in the four corners of the largest state naming “Parivartan Yatra”, starting from Lucknow on the birthday of former prime minister Atal Bihari Vajpayee, December 25.

Among these mega rallies, Prime Minister Narendra Modi will be addressing six rallies in November and December. 

BJP president Amit Shah, Home Minister Rajnath Singh, party veteran Kalraj Mishra and state party chief Keshav Prasad Maurya will flag off the four yatras. The first rally will start from Saharanpur on November 5, the second from Lalitpur on November 6, the third from Ballia on November 8, while the fourth will start from Sonbhadra on November 9.

The four mega rallies will pass through every district during the scheduled 50 days. 

Political observers feel that amid growing vagueness over its possible Chief Ministerial candidate among the party and its parent organization RSS, BJP chose to hold mega rallies across the state, aiming at assessing the public feedback on it. 

While all other opposition parties have come up with the CM face for the upcoming election, the saffron party chose to conduct survey among local leadership to declare the final decision.

After Bihar debacle and defeat in the national capital, Sangh chose to be meticulous and want to project a Sangh face as the chief ministerial candidate, sources said.  

In the recent times, the country has witnessed a dynamic shift of Indian politics. Therefore, the saffron party has been in dilemma over the heterogeneous cast eco-system. The senior BJP leadership of the state also feels that, if the quandary continues over the CM face and if BJP doesn’t get a green signal from Sangh, the party will contest the upcoming Assembly poll without a CM face. 

The BJP has set a target of 265-plus seats in the 403-member state assembly. 
Next Story
Share it