Millennium Post

BJP second list out, Yeddyurappa in

BJP second list out, Yeddyurappa in
Sources said senior BJP leader Murali Manohar Joshi refused to give up the Varanasi seat for the party’s prime ministerial candidate Narendra Modi. He reportedly had an argument with party president Rajnath Singh, which was backed by another leader Sushma Swaraj who spoke in favour of Joshi. The situation was later brought under control after the intervention of L K Advani.

So far, the BJP has announced a total of 106 candidates for the Lok Sabha elections, which is scheduled to be held between 7 April and 12 May. Earlier, on 27 February, the party has announced the names of 54 candidates and it is expected that they will release the third list on 13 March.

The BJP has decided to field Yeddyurappa from Shimoga in Karnataka, while former chief minister Gowda and Kumar will contest from Bengaluru North and South constituencies respectively.

Yeddyurappa, who had to quit the BJP in the wake of corruption charges, had recently rejoined with a hope that his return will help in achieving the magic figure. Total 20 candidates were selected from Karnataka.

The central election committee of the BJP met under the presidentship of Rajnath Singh and has decided the names for the ensuing elections. The meeting was attended by Advani, Murli Manohar Joshi, M. Venkaiah Naidu, Nitin Gadkari, Sushma Swaraj, Arun Jaitley and all the members of the central election committee of the BJP.

Interestingly, the BJP did not finalise the name of the candidate from Bellary after Sushma Swaraj expressed her anger on 6 March opposing the merger with the BSR Congress, a party floated by an aide of the Reddy brothers of Bellary who were involved in mining scam.

Seventeen names have been cleared from West Bengal, which include film artist Nimu Bhowmik from Raiganj, singer Babul Supriya from Asansol, and Joy Banerjee. A retired IPS R K Handa, once close to former chief minister Jyoti Basu, is also in the fray. He will be contesting from Barrackpore. Chandan Mitra will contest from Hooghly. The BJP has also announced five candidates from Assam, five from Odisha, three from Kerala, and two from Tripura.

Interestingly, party president Rajnath Singh, who had said that he is apologetic towards them for any mistake the party may have committed, inducted only two Muslims candidates in the second list. They are Mohammad Alam from Ghatal and Badsah Alam from Tamluk in West Bengal.

The list did not carry the names of senior party leaders like LK Advani, Narendra Modi, Rajnath Singh, Sushma Swaraj, Uma Bharati, Arun Jaitley and Murli Manohar Joshi.
Next Story
Share it