Millennium Post

BJP rejig: Smriti, Najma eased out

BJP rejig: Smriti, Najma eased out
In a major rejig, the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) on Thursday reconstituted its 111-member National Executive (NE), dropping four prominent faces of the party. The names include HRD minister Smriti Irani, Shahnawaz Hussain, minority affairs minister Najma Heptulla, Hema Malini and BJP’s Mumbai spokesperson Shaina NC.

The first meeting of the new NE, which was announced by the party president Amit Shah, will be held on April 3 and 4 in Bangalore. There are speculations that with Irani’s exclusion, the party is trying to clip her wings while the top authority does not seem to be too happy with the functioning of the others and therefore, they have been left out.

On the context of Irani’s exclusion despite being close to Prime Minister Narendra Modi, sources said: “The Rashtriya Swayamsevak Sangh (RSS) and the party were not happy with her performances.
Several times, she met RSS leaders at its headquarters in Delhi to sort out the differences but all her effort went in vain. RSS leader told her that their main area is education and culture, in which she has failed to do anything much for the country.” Those who are in the NE list are Modi, former Prime Minister AB Vajpayee, L K Advani, Arun Jaitley, Murli Manohar Joshi, Rajnath Singh, Sushma Swaraj, Venkaiah Naidu and Nirmala Sitharaman.

Also, all the eight Chief Ministers of BJP-ruled states and two Deputy Chief Ministers, including that in Jammu and Kashmir, besides 24 former Chief Ministers and three former Deputy Chief Ministers were finalised as permanent invitees to the NE.    

The party president felt the need of reconstituting its NE because of its meeting, which was already delayed due to several pending bills and projects by the Centre.

Others included in the list are: Nitin Gadkari, Ananth Kumar, Thawarchand Gehlot, Jagat Prakash Nadda, Ravi Shankar Prasad, Kalraj Mishra, Narendra Singh Tomar, Harsh Vardhan, Bandaru Dattatreya, Radha Mohan Singh, Yashwant Sinha, Vinay Katiyar CP Thakur, Jual Oram, SS Ahluwalia, Vijay K Malhotra, Hukumdev Narayan Singh, L Ganeshan, Lalji Tandon, O Rajgopal, Tathagat Roy, Gulab Chand Katariya, Subramanyam Swami, Mukhtar Abbas Naqvi, Dharmendra Pradhan, Rajeev Pratap Rudy, Prakash Javadekar, (Gen) VK Singh, Suresh Prabhu, Birendra Singh, Piyush Goyal.

Other leaders like Varun Gandhi, Tapir Gaon, Vijay Goyal Satpal Maharaj, Vishnubhushan Harichandan, Vijay Mahapatra and PK Krishna Das, V Shanmughanathan, Yogi Adityanath and Navjot Singh Sidhu are part of the NE, while leader Sadhvi Niranjan Jyoti was made a special invitee.

“All the BJP Chief Ministers Shivraj Singh Chauhan, Raman Singh, Vasundhra Raje Scindia, Anandiben Patel, Raghuvar Das, Devendra Gandadharrao Fadnavis, Manohar Lal Khattar and Laxmikant Parsekar, besides deputy Chief Ministers Fracesco De D’souza and Nirmal Singh are also invitees,” a statement issued by the party reads. “All Legislative Assembly and Legislative Council party leaders, state presidents of all states, all General Secretaries (Organisation) will be special invitees in National Executive,” it reads.
Next Story
Share it