Millennium Post

BJP president announces list of new office bearers

BJP president  announces list of new office bearers
Former secretary Shyam Jaju is among those who became a vice president besides Om Mathur and Avinash Rai Khanna. Mathur, who was general secretary in Rajnath Singh’s team, was made in-charge of the party affairs in Uttar Pradesh, which was held by Shah himself during the Lok Sabha elections before his elevation as the party chief. Khanna was in-charge of party affairs in Jammu and Kashmir where BJP has formed its first government with PDP.

Beside Vijayvargiya, the others who were made general secretaries are Arun Singh and Anil Jain (secretary in-charge of Haryana during the last assembly polls). Vijayvargiya was party’s election in-charge in Haryana, where the party formed the government of its own for the first time.

The four new secretaries are: Suresh Pujari, a leader from Odisha, Mahendra Singh, an MLC from Uttar Pradesh and in-charge of party affairs in Assam, Delhi MP Mahesh Giri and Farooq Khan, a party leader from Jammu and Kashmir.

The new appointments have been made to fill up vacancies due to induction of vice presidents Mukhtar Abbas Naqvi and Bandaru <g data-gr-id="31">Dattareya</g> into the Union government and Raghubar Das’ appointment as Jharkhand Chief Minister.

The vacancies of general secretaries were formed after J P Nadda, Rajiv Pratap Rudy and Ram Shankar <g data-gr-id="23">Katheriya</g> became Union Ministers.

Meanwhile, Shah flags off “Nari Samman Yatra” on Wednesday from BJP Headquarter. The yatra will end in Kolkata on June 24 and is likely to cover seven states. The yatra is being organised by the BJP Mahila Morcha to spread awareness about centre’s programmes for the welfare of women.


Our contributor helps bringing the latest updates to you

Share it