Millennium Post

BJP draws a blank as AAP sweeps Delhi APMC polls

In what may be considered to be a major victory for the ruling Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) in Delhi after demonetisation, the party has bagged a mammoth vote share of Agriculture Produce Market Committee (APMC) elections that were held on Monday. Like earlier Assembly election results, the party has won a total of 13 out of 16 seats so far. The two other parties — Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) and Congress — which were claiming their stronghold in Delhi’s mandis have hardly managed to open their accounts. 

“Delhi mandis represent small time traders, retailers who are neither black money holders nor very rich people and hence their mandate has huge significance. The BJP, which has forced the poor people to accept the decision of currency ban, has been defeated while the AAP, which had organised its first rally at Azadpur mandi, has routed them. The Congress, which was claiming to be a major force in the mandis, have also been rejected by the voters. We can say that Monday’s result is a referendum for both the parties who have lesser concern for the poor,” said Dilip Pandey, Convener of the Delhi unit.

The party Convener also added that ahead of the Delhi Municipal polls, it was a clear indication that it would be victorious in the Corporation election and beat the ruling BJP. “Since MCD elections are round the corner, people of Delhi have shown their faith by making the AAP candidates victorious. With APMC polls, both the BJP and Congress should understand their actual positions. Here, we can also say that people have shown their faith again in the party as well as the Delhi government,” added Pandey.

Delhi Labour Minister Gopal Rai termed it as a mandate against demonetisation while AAP’s Delhi unit convenor Dilip Pandey termed the outcome as a “semi-final” to the MCD polls. 

APMC has enrolled 4,500 voters,in which 2500 hail from Azadpur mandi. The Agricultural Produce Market Committee in Delhi helps in managing the sabzi mandis in the national Capital.

Notably, the Capital has the following major mandis — Azadpur, Okhla, Ghazipur murgha, fish and sabzi mandi, Najafgarh grain mandi and Narela grain mandi where nearly 4,500 traders elect their representatives. While Azadpur mandi has three seats with a tenure of 5 years, the rest have two seats each with a tenure of three years. Traders also elect a board member for APMC for five years’ period. A total of 2,500 traders cast their votes in Azadpur mandi while a total of 2,000 traders for six other mandis. The AAP has gained 13 seats out 16, while the Congress party managed to win only three seats. The BJP has reportedly drawn a blank. 
Next Story
Share it