Millennium Post

BJP brigade gears up for Modi’s oath-taking party

BJP brigade gears up for Modi’s oath-taking party
Ahead of the swearing-in ceremony of Narendra Modi as prime minister, BJP president Rajnath Singh on Thursday held a meeting with the party's general secretaries to oversee the preparation for the event invitation for which is being sent to over 3000 people.

Talking to reporters, general secretary Ananth Kumar said a congratulatory letter was sent to Modi by Congress president Sonia Gandhi and termed it "natural".
'Modiji has received congratulations from various opposition leaders and also from those from abroad. It is but natural,' he said when queried on Gandhi's greetings but declined to comment on whether it came a little too late.

He also declined to dwell in details about the invitees for the mega event on 26 May at the forecourt of Rashtrapati Bhawan, saying it is being handled by the President's secretariat and they are coordinating with them.

'We today discussed in details about arrangements for the oath-taking ceremony of Modi and his council of ministers. There is a lot of enthusiasm across the country about the event,' he said.

All chief ministers and governors are likely to be invited for the swearing-in ceremony. Senior journalists and distinguished people from different walks of lives will also be among invitees, BJP sources said.

Heads of SAARC countries, including Pakistan’s Prime Minister Nawaz Sharif, have already been invited and the family members of Modi, including his mother and brothers, are also likely to attend it.
Hectic preparations are on at Rashtrapati Bhawan for the exercise. Secretary to President Pranab Mukherjee, Amita Paul, has held a series of meetings with officials from various ministries and Delhi Police and security agencies to firm up arrangements for the gala event.

Following the footsteps of Atal Bihari Vajpayee, Modi has expressed his desire to be sworn in at the forecourt so that a large number of visitors can be accommodated. Chandrashekar was another Prime Minister who had taken oath at the same venue.

BJP chalked up a landslide victory in Lok Sabha polls and crossed the magic figure of 272 in the 543-member House on its own for the first time in its history.

Modi will be administered the oath of office by President Pranab Mukherjee on 26 May at 6 pm.

Next Story
Share it