Biman Banerjee elected Speaker for second term

Biman Banerjee elected Speaker for second term
The MLAs elected him by voice vote. HA Safwi, former Minister in charge of Correctional Homes will be the deputy Speaker.

Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee urged the legislators to give up negative thoughts and take part in debates with a positive outlook to set an example in parliamentary democracy. She also urged all the MLAs to maintain peace.

Banerjee on Tuesday emphasised that development would be the thrust area of the new government. She sought cooperation from all the legislators across party lines.

The Assembly session will begin on June 17, during which the government will present the budget for 2016-17.

The Assembly session is likely to be stormy as the Opposition, though small in number, has some veteran parliamentarians. From the gesture of the Congress and Left Front MLAs, it is clear that they will move jointly in the House.

The Leader of Opposition Abdul Mannan is well-versed with the proceedings of the Assembly. He will be assisted by three of his experienced colleagues, Manas Bhuniya, Abu Hena and Shankar Singh. 
Sujan Chakraborty, leader of Left Front legislature party was an MP and has three veteran leaders, Ashok Bhattacharya, former Urban Development Minister during the CPI(M) regime, Biswanath Chowdhury of RSP, former Social Welfare Minister in Buddhadeb Bhattacharjee’s cabinet, and Anisur Rahman, another ex-Minister in Bhattacharjee’s cabinet.

BJP has three MLAs, including state president Dilip Ghosh, for the first time in five decades.Mannan said he expected the ruling party would listen to the issues raised by the Opposition and good behavior from its legislators.



Our contributor helps bringing the latest updates to you

Share it