Millennium Post

Billiards Premier League commences today

Top Maharashtra <g data-gr-id="21">cueists</g>, turning out for eight franchise outfits, will battle for glory in the Rs 10 lakh <g data-gr-id="22">prize-money</g> 2nd Videocon-Billiards Premier League (BPL), organised by Billiards and Snooker Association of Maharashtra, here from Wednesday.

The nine-day event, featuring top players like recently <g data-gr-id="34">crowed</g> Asian champion Dhruv Sitwala, former world runner-up Devendra Joshi and former Asian Games gold medallist Ashok Shandilya, would be held in five clubs/gymkhanas.

Bombay Gymkhana, NSCI, Garware Club House, PJ Hindu Gymkhana and Cricket Club of India are the venue partners of the tournament that offers the winning team prize money of Rs 3.2 lakh.
The eight competing teams are Rajdhani <g data-gr-id="28">Ke</g> Aryans, SPG <g data-gr-id="29">Billiardiers</g>, Ottoman, Adamo Potters, Siddhanth Strikers, Mumbai Stars, RRockets, and Race for Gold.

Each seam consists of a maximum of 6 players. A player can play more than 2 frames per match, but he cannot play consecutive frames in a match.

Every player in the team has to play 4 frames in the league stage or he shall not be allowed to play in the ties and play-offs. A penalty of 2 points per such player shall be deducted from the total points.

Every player has been given a handicap based on the BSAM Billiard League and the BGPL (as reference). The handicaps would not be revised during the course of the league, but may be revised before the playoffs. 


Our contributor helps bringing the latest updates to you

Share it