Trinamool sweeps Bengal Panchayat polls

Trinamool sweeps Bengal Panchayat polls
Kolkata: The rural populace in Bengal has given their verdict in overwhelming unison in favour of the Trinamool Congress in three-tier Panchayat election whose results started pouring in on Thursday evening.
The BJP has come a distant second position while the CPI(M) and Congress have virtually become non-existent. In fact, Independent candidates have secured the third position defeating both CPI(M) and Congress in the Gram Panchayat.
Dedicating the victory to the people of Bengal, Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee said: "We had to fight against four forces. There was pressure from the Union Home ministry. Whenever a state BJP leader made any allegation, the Home ministry would contact the state government for clarification.
There were court cases that stopped us from doing any work. Of the 13 people who have been killed in the violence, 10 are Trinamool Congress supporters and last but not the least there was immense media trial. Whenever anything happened, the media showed the same incident again and again from morning till night." Sharply reacting to Prime Minister Narendra Modi's statement regarding violence in Bengal, she said: "The Prime Minister's statement is most unfortunate. He should have cross-checked before making such a statement."
Banerjee did not clarify whether the state government will give compensation to the victims of poll-related violence but maintained: "Ours is a poor party. But we will try to help those who have been killed. This is most unfortunate."
In Gram Panchayat, rural Bengal has voted all out for the Trinamool Congress. Out of a total of 48,660 seats, election was held in 31,802. Of these seats, so far the Trinamool Congress has bagged 19,059 seats while BJP has got 4976. The CPI(M) and Congress have got 1287 and 852 seats respectively while the CPI got 31 seats. In GP, Independent candidates got as many as 1335 seats.
In Panchayat Samity, the total seats are 9217 while the election was held in 6123 seats. The TMC got 560 seats so far while the BJP secured 24 and CPI(M) and Congress got 7 and 1 seats respectively.
In Zilla Parishad, the total number of seats is 825 and election was held in 622.
The Trinamool Congress has got 71 seats while BJP has bagged one seat. The CPI(M) and Congress are yet to open their accounts.
Team MP

Team MP

Our contributor helps bringing the latest updates to you


View All

Latest News

View All
Share it