Millennium Post

Voting ends, decision on Thursday for Presidential polls

Ram Nath Kovind or Meira Kumar? Who will be India's next President? 776 MPs and 4120 MLAs will decide in a secret ballot vote today when polling began at 10 am. As things stand, Kovind is likely to sweep the election with 70 per cent of the electoral college backing him. However, political parties cannot issue a whip to their members to vote for a particular nominee which means that cross-voting is possible.
Prime Minister Narendra Modi and BJP President Amit Shah cast their votes at Parliament. Before casting his vote, the Prime Minister addressed the media, saying the Monsoon Session, which begun today, brings 'hope'. "Like the Monsoon brings hope, this session also brings same spirit of hope," PM Modi said. "This session gives the country an opportunity to elect the president and the vice president," he added.
Meanwhile, BJP is scheduled to hold a parliamentary board meeting at 6 pm to decide its Vice-Presidential candidate later today. The opposition has already picked former West Bengal governor Gopalkrishna Gandhi as its candidate.
Next Story
Share it