Millennium Post

Six books penned by Mamata to be unveiled at Book fair today

The West Bengal Chief Minister, who is campaigning hard against the BJP Government's demonetisation policy, will be launching her book on the subject, titled, Notekatha. This will be done at the fag end of the inauguration ceremony of the Kolkata International Book fair 2017 on January 25 at the Milan Mela grounds on the
E M Bypass.

Of the 6 books penned by the Chief Minister and being released by Dey's Publishing on this occasion, Notekatha is the most important because the CM has enlisted the reasons behind her political movement against demonetization. "The tribulations faced by the public, the opinion of other nations, the party's national and state level protest plans have been included in this book", Subhankar Dey, a partner of Dey's Publishing, told Millennium Post.

Another book by Banerjee, titled, Manusher Joy 2016, talks about the Assembly elections last year, in which Banerjee had to battle tough resistance from the media and fight tooth and nail for wresting a landslide victory against Opposition parties like the Congress, CPM and BJP.

Another book, Byaktitto, is a collection of poems penned by the CM, who is a prolific painter and poet. Another interesting volume to be released on Wednesday will be a collection of Urdu shayris written by Banerjee, titled, Khusboo.

Singur joyi, another title to be released on Wednesday, will narrate the story of the farmer's movement in Singur, their ultimate victory in the eyes of the law and Banerjee's association with the movement from the very beginning.

Namanjali is a sequel to the first published book of names written by Banerjee.

Ek jeebanei is a collation of autobiographical writings of the late Mahasveta Devi, who was fond of the Chief Minister and stood by her side even before Banerjee became the Chief Minister in 2011. Magsaysay award winner Mahasveta Devi championed the cause of tribals and women throughout her career as an activist, novelist. This title will be published later during the Book Fair.

Dey's Publication has on earlier occasions published all of Banerjee's books. The latest collection will take up the count to 69.
Next Story
Share it