Millennium Post

Manipur's first ever BJP-led government to be sworn in today

The first BJP-led government in Manipur will be sworn-in today when N Biren Singh is administered the oath of office and secrecy by Governor Najma Heptulla.

Heptulla on Tuesday invited Singh, who was unanimously elected the leader of the 21-member BJP legislature party on Monday, to form the government.

The invitation to Singh came on a day when four members of the Naga People's Front, an NDA ally, met the Governor and declared their support to BJP for government formation.

Raj Bhavan sources said the swearing-in would take place at 1 pm on Wednesday.

On being asked about how many ministers will take oath along with the Chief Minister, BJP sources here said it was yet to be worked out.

"However, It will be a small ministry and it will have representation from other allies," the sources said.

"Four NPF MLAs met the Governor and extended their support to the BJP for government formation," a Raj Bhavan source said.

The BJP has claimed support of 32 MLAs in the 60-member assembly.

A BJP delegation had met the Governor on Sunday with 21 party MLAs besides four of NPP, and one legislator each of LJP, TMC and Congress.

The BJP had also claimed the support of the NPF and submitted a letter from the Naga People's Front president pledging the party's support to form the government.

Raj Bhavan sources said the Governor wanted to meet the NPF MLAs personally to ascertain whether they backed the BJP in forming the government.

After Goa, Manipur would be the second state among the five where elections were held recently where the BJP would form a government despite not being the single largest party by cobbling together a post-poll alliance.

Congress, which has 28 MLAs, led the tally. Okram Ibobi Singh, its Chief Minister for three consecutive terms, had resigned and staked claim to form the government, but numbers were on BJP's side.
M Post Bureau

M Post Bureau

This is the default Millennium Post

Next Story
Share it