Millennium Post

Congress finalises seat-sharing with RJD

New Delhi: The Congress has finalised its seat-sharing arrangement with the Rashtriya Janata Dal in Bihar and will contest 11 out of the state's 40 parliamentary constituencies, sources said on Thursday.

It was finalised after a marathon eight-hour meeting of top leaders of the two parties on Wednesday and an announcement is likely to be made in Patna on March 17, the sources said.

The Lalu Prasad-led Rashtriya Janata Dal is likely to contest around 20 seats, leaving the rest to smaller allies such as the party led by Jitan Ram Manjhi, RLSP of Upendra Kushwaha, Loktantrik Janata Dal of Arjun Rai and Sharad Yadav's party.

The RJD is yet to complete its seat-sharing talks with smaller allies and the Left parties.

The sources said the Congress was keen to bring the Left parties on board in the grand alliance, but the Rashtriya Janata Dal is averse to it.

The leaders had met at the residence of AICC general secretary K C Venugopal.

Next Story
Share it