Millennium Post

Bypoll results: BJP wins Jind, Congress Ramgarh

Congress reaches half-way mark in Raj

Bypoll results: BJP wins Jind, Congress Ramgarh

New Delhi: The bypoll results in Jind and Ramgarh were declared on Thursday, giving both the BJP and the Congress one win each ahead of the 2019 Lok Sabha elections.

BJP candidate Krishan Lal Middha won the Jind Assembly seat in Haryana by a margin of 12,935 votes and Congress candidate Shafia Zubair won the Ramgarh Assembly seat in Rajasthan with a margin of 12,228 votes.

In Jind, ruling BJP's Krishan Lal Middha defeated Congress national spokesperson Randeep Singh Surjewala. With a poor show in Jind assembly bypoll result, Surjewala finished third securing only 22,740 votes against the 50,566 votes bagged by BJP's Krishan Lal Middha.

In Ramgarh, Shafia Zubair won 83,311 votes, while BJP's Suwant Singh won 71,083. Jagat Singh of the Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP) finished third with 24,856 votes. With Ramgarh win in Rajasthan, Congress's tally in the 200-member Rajasthan Assembly has climbed to 100.

An overjoyed Shafia said: "This is a victory of the people. I congratulate the people for this victory. "The BJP talks too much and does little. They closed the schools which we had started, they were biased in implementing the social welfare schemes and hence people wanted to come out of the polarized environment they had created. "So people have voted unitedly for the Congress," she added.

The bypoll results, however, has come as a rude shock for the Congress party, as party's big face and chief spokesperson Randeep Singh Surjewala finished at third position. The senior Congress leader could get only 22,740 votes, which is less than the half votes of the winner.

Next Story
Share it