Millennium Post

BJP releases first list of 70 candidates

New Delhi: The BJP on Friday released its first list of 70 candidates for the Gujarat elections, including five Congress rebels and 49 sitting MLAs.
The state's ruling party has fielded 16 fresh faces in its first list for elections to the 182-member Gujarat Assembly, to be held in two phases on December 9 and 14.
The five Congress rebels who have been given tickets are Raghavji Patel, Dharmendrasinh Jadeja, Ramsinh Parmar, Mansinh Chauhan and C K Raolji. They had supported the BJP during the presidential election and Congress leader Ahmed Patel's Rajya Sabha election.
The party has named Chief Minister Vijaybhai Rupani as its candidate from Rajkot West. Deputy Chief Minister Nitinbhai Patel will contest from Mahesana and state party president Jitubhai Vaghani from Bhavnagar West.
Of the 70, 17 are Patels, 18 OBCs, three SCs and 11 STs, party sources said.
Next Story
Share it