Millennium Post

DMs, SPs of violence-hit MP districts transferred

The Madhya Pradesh government on Thursday transferred the District Magistrates of three violence-hit districts - Mandsaur, Ratlam and Neemuch - over the growing agitation by farmers, while the Mandsaur Police Superintendent was also transferred.

A circular issued said Mandsaur DM Swatantra Kumar Singh has been replaced by the DM of Shivpuri O.P. Shrivastava, while B. Chandrashekhar has been replaced by Tanvi Sundriyal in Ratlam. In Neemuch, Kaushlendra Vikram Singh was named the new DM, replacing Rajneesh Shrivastava.

Speaking to reporters, Madhya Pradesh Chief Secretary Basant Pratap Singh said the officials in Mandsaur were transferred in the wake of "dissatisfaction" of the people.

According to informed sources, Neemuch SP Manoj Singh has been appointed the new Mandsaur SP in place of O.P. Tripathi.

The transfers come after five farmers were killed in police firing in Mandsaur on Tuesday. Farmers have been indulging in large-scale violence in the three districts to press their demands.

T.K. Vidyarthi, SP (Rail, Bhopal) has been made the new Neemuch Superintendent of Police. O.P. Tripathi has been sent to police headquarters.

The farmer's agitation entered its eighth day on Thursday. The peasants have been on strike since June 1, demanding loan waiver and fair price for their produce.

On Tuesday, the agitating farmers resorted to violence, pelting stones at police in Mandsaur district. In retaliation, police opened fire at the farmers' mob, leaving five dead, according to official count, but farmer leaders claim eight were killed.

Violence erupted again on Wednesday as the protesting farmers indulged in arson with hundreds defying the curfew in Mandsaur.

A group of farmers also marched to a police station in Dewas district and set fire to vehicles parked there.

Next Story
Share it