Millennium Post

Baghel sworn in Chhattisgarh CM

Raipur: Congress leader Bhupesh Baghel was on Monday sworn in as chief minister of Chhattisgarh. MLAs T S Singh Deo and Tamradhwaj Sahu, who were front-runners for the CM's post, too were sworn in as ministers. Governor Anandiben Patel administered the oath of office and secrecy to Baghel, 57, and the two during the swearing-in ceremony at the Balbeer Juneja Indoor Stadium here.

In his first Press conference as CM, Baghel announced a loan waiver of Rs 6,100 crore for farmers. He also announced Rs 2,500 per quintal for paddy. Congress President Rahul Gandhi and former Prime Minister Manmohan Singh were among the leaders from across the political spectrum who attended the inauguration. Others present included AICC general secretary Mallikarjun Kharge, Rajasthan Chief Minister Ashok Gehlot, his deputy Sachin Pilot, Puducherry CM V Narayansamy, MP Jyotiraditya Scindia, Punjab minister Navjot Singh Sidhu, National Conference president Farooq Abdullah and Loktantrik Janata Dal leader Sharad Yadav.

Baghel's predecessor Raman Singh was also present. Baghel, who took charge as Congress state president Congress after the 2013 Assembly polls, was credited for the massive victory of the party in the recent Assembly polls where Congress won 68 seats in the 90-member House. The BJP, which was in power in the state since 2003, bagged just 15 seats.

Next Story
Share it