Millennium Post

Assam serial blast case: CBI court convicts NDFB chief, 14 others

Guwahati: The chief of the National Democratic Front of Bodoland (NDFB), Ranjan Daimary, and 14 others were on Monday convicted by a CBI fast track court in the 2008 case of serial bomb blasts in Assam that had left 88 people dead.

CBI Special Judge Aparesh Chakraborty convicted them under various sections of the IPC. The quantum of the punishment will be announced on Wednesday.

Besides Daimary, others convicted in the case are George Bodo, B Tharai, Raju Sarkar, Nilim Daimary, Anchai Bodo, Indra Brahma, Loko Basumatary, Khargeswar Basumatary, Prabhat Bodo, Jayanta Bodo, Ajay Basumatary, Mridul Goyary, Mathuram Brahma and Rajen Goyary.

The serial blasts were triggered by the NDFB on October 30, 2008 in Guwahati, Kokrajhar, Bongaigaon and Barpeta, killing 88 people and injuring more than 500.

The CBI had taken over the case from Assam Police and had filed two charge sheets, naming 22 accused - seven of them still absconding.

Next Story
Share it