Millennium Post

Biennial election to UP Legislative Council to be held on January 23

Biennial election to 12 seats of Uttar Pradesh Legislative Council will be held on January 23. According to a notification issued here on Thursday, the nomination process for the elections will start on January 6.

Among the 12 retiring members whose term will come to an end on January 30, seven are from Bahujan Samaj Party, three from Samajwadi Party and two from BJP.

As per the strength of 403 members of the state assembly, around 33 members will be electing one MLC each and since the ruling Samajwadi Party has 230 members, it will be the major gainer expecting to win seven members.

With 80 MLAs, the BSP will manage only two seats although it will have a surplus of 14 votes, BJP with 41 members will be able to get one seat while one seat is likely to go to Congress (28 members)- Rashtirya Lok Dal (eight members) combine.

Those retiring on January 30 include both the Leader of the House and Minister for Medical Health Ahmad Hasan and Leader of Opposition Naseemuddin Siddiqui (BSP).

Others who will be retiring are Ramesh Yadav, Dr Sarojni Agarwal (SP), Ashok Kumar Sidharth, Dr Om Prakash Bharti, Pratap Singh Baghel, Mahesh Arya and Lokesh Prajapati (all BSP) and Baburam M.Com and Vinod pandey (both BJP).

The party wise strength in state assembly is SP (230), BSP (80), BJP (41), Congress (28), RLD (8), Peace Party (4), Quami Ekta Dal (2), Nationalist Congress party, Apna Dal, Etehad-e-millat council, and Trinmool congress (one each) and six Independents.

Next Story
Share it