Millennium Post

BCCI makes Patil chief selector, shuts door on Jimmy Amarnath

BCCI makes Patil chief selector, shuts door on Jimmy Amarnath
In a surprise move, BCCI on Thursday appointed former Test batsman Sandeep Patil as the chairman of the totally new-look senior selection committee while showing the exit door to Mohinder Amarnath, who was eligible to be reappointed.

The 56-year-old Patil's appointment to the hot seat by replacing another dashing batsman K Srikkanth came as bolt from the blue, as his name was not even being talked about as a possible candidate prior to the Board's 83rd Annual General Meeting, which finalised the panel.

Roger Binny [South], Vikram Rathore [North], Saba Karim [East] and Rajinder Singh Hans [Central] comprise the rest of the new panel which had no place for Amarnath, the man of the match in the 1983 World Cup final which India won to create history. Amarnath has been dropped after just one year in his job.

Not willing to spell out the reason for the ouster of Amarnath, Board president N Srinivasan said the decision not to reappoint him cannot be discussed in public and added that the Board members wanted a new-look committee.

‘The term of selectors is for a maximum of four years but they have to be elected annually. It's the decision of BCCI. One cannot go into the reasons [for not reappointing Amarnath]. It's not a subject for public debate,’ Srinivasan told a press conference after the AGM.

According to sources, three units of North were against Amarnath's re-appointment and his ejection was not unexpected. But the major surprises were the inclusion of Patil instead of fellow-Mumbai player Abey Kuruvilla and Syed Saba Karim from East, when their names was not among the players being talked about, and to a lesser extent Hans, the former UP left arm spinner with a unique action that puzzled the batsmen.

Chnadrakant Pandit, a wicketkeeper-batsman who played for India between 1986 and 1992, was named chairman of the junior selection committee. The AGM also decided to raise the selectors’ annual remuneration from Rs 40 lakh to Rs 60 lakh, while for the junior selectors, it was raised from Rs 20 lakh to Rs 40 lakh.
Next Story
Share it