Millennium Post

Batch of greenhorns to grace new Bengal Assembly

Most of the celebrity candidates contesting the elections in Trinamool Congress ticket have come out victorious while some others belonging to other political camps have been defeated. However, the former football star Baichung Bhutia who contested the election in Trinamool Congress’s ticket from Siliguri lost in his second attempt, while former Bengal cricketer Laxmi Ratan Shukla made it on his first attempt by winning from Howrah North. Trinamool Congress had fielded Laxmi from this seat.
Former footballer Sayed Rahim Nabi, Trinamool Congress candidate contesting the election from Pandua in Hooghly has been defeated by Sk Amjad Hossain of CPI(M).

Dipendu Biswas another football player and a Trinamool Congress candidate has won from Basirhat South assembly constituency by defeating BJP’s sitting MLA Samik Bhattacharya. In the last by-election at Basirhat South seat Biswas was defeated by Bhattacharya.

Film actor Soham Chakraborty who was contesting from the Barjora Assembly constituency in Trianamool Congress ticket has failed to make it to the list of successful candidates. He has been defeated by the Sujit Chakraborty of CPI(M) by a small margin. Vaishali Dalmiya of Trinamool Congress who had recently made her debut to the politics has won from the Bally by defeating CPI(M)’s Soumendranath Bera. Well known singer Indranil Sen and a Trinamool Congress candidate has won from Chandannagar.

Though, singer Soumitra Roy who had contested from Chanchal in Malda in Trinamool Congress’s ticket has lost to Congress Asif Mehboob. 

In some place the celebrity candidates have left a mark of their individual charisma or through the organisational strength of the ruling Trinamool Congress, while in some cases the star candidates have lost to their political rivals.
Next Story
Share it