Millennium Post

Assam cross-voting: Cong wins both RS seats ahead of Assembly polls

With additional help in the form of cross-voting by one member each of BJP and regional outfi Bodo People’s Front, Assam’s ruling Congress on Monday won both the Rajya Sabha seats, in a boost ahead of assembly elections in the state next month.

Congress had fielded senior leaders Ripun Bora and Ranee Narah. “Congress has won both the seats. Independent candidate Mahabir Prasad Jain got no vote,” Assam Assembly Principal Secretary Mrigendra Kumar Deka said here.

Giving the break-up, Deka said Congress’ 66 MLAs and AIUDF’s 17 MLAs and one each from BJP and BPF had cast their votes in the Rajya Sabha poll. While one vote for Congress became invalid due to use of wrong mark, the rest went in favour of Bora and Narah, he added. 
Next Story
Share it