Millennium Post

Asian Athletics medal winners to get cash awards

All the 13 Indian medal winners at the 21st Asian Athletics Championship which concluded on Sunday in Wuhan, China will receive cash awards from the sports ministry for their achievements.

The 59-member Indian team finished third overall with four gold, five silver and four bronze, behind China and Qatar.

Under the revised scheme of the Sports Ministry, gold winners in Asian Championships held once in two years will get Rs 7.5 lakhs, while silver and bronze medallists will pocket Rs 5 and 2.5 lakhs respectively.

Lalita Babar (3000m steeplechase), Tintu Luka (800m), Vikas Gowda (discus throw) and Inderjit Singh (shot put) bagged gold medals and each of them will get richer by Rs.7.5 lakh after their feats.

The silver medal winners are M R Poovamma (400m), G Lakshmanan (10,000m), Liksy Joseph (heptathlon), Jinson Johnson (800m) and women’s 4x400m relay team.

Dharambir Singh (200m), Lakshmanan (5,000m), Purnima Hembram (heptathlon) and Sarbani Nanda (200m) won bronze medals for which they will get Rs 2.5 lakh each. 


Our contributor helps bringing the latest updates to you

Share it