Millennium Post

As Lalu battles crisis, five of 13 rebels ‘return’

As Lalu battles crisis, five of 13 rebels ‘return’
Observers were surprised earlier in the day with the Vidhan Sabha secretariat in Patna notifying a bloc of 13 MLAs as separate from the RJD following an ‘application’ from them.

The chief whip of the RJD legislature party Samrat Chaudhury claimed 13 out of 22 MLAs have quit the party and submitted their joint application to the assembly secretary. Chaudhary, who is son of senior RJD leader Shakuni Chaudhary, was supposedly working according to plan hatched by his father with chief minister Nitish Kumar. However, later in the evening, five of the 13 MLAs appeared at the RJD office claiming that their signature has been forged.

The RJD MLAs who were initially thought to have ‘walked out’ were Samrat Chaudhary, Raghvendra Pratap Singh, Durga Prasad Singh, Lalit Yadav, Anirudh Kumar, Jeetendra Rai, Akhtar-ul-Islam Sahin, Akhtar-ul-Iman, Abdul Gafoor, Faiyazz, Javed Iqbal Ansari, Ram Lakhan Ram Raman and Chandrasekhar. The list created a stir as it had five from the minority community. Later in the evening, Abdul Bari Sidiqqui,a former leader of RJD legislature party alleged five MLAs were manipulated and their signatures forged. These MLAs -- Abdul Ghafoor, Akhtarul Ima, Durga Prasad Singh and Chandrasehkar attended a press briefing called by Sidiqqui at party office on Monday evening.

These legislatures told the mediapersons their signatures were forged and they were still with the RJD.
Next Story
Share it