Millennium Post

Appointment of directors in discoms: HC notice to AAP govt

Delhi government had appointed the following as nominee directors of <g data-gr-id="26">discoms</g> — Sanjeev Singh, managing director, Delhi Transco Limited (DTL); Prem Prakash, director, operations, DTL and <g data-gr-id="27">Anajani</g> Kumar Sharma and Sudhir Verma.

A Bench of Chief Justice G Rohini and Justice Jayant Nath issued notice to Delhi government and Delhi Power Company Limited and tagged the matter with one other similar petition challenging constitution of a commission of inquiry in CNG fitness certificate scam.

“Issue notice to the respondents. This is a matter similar to the petition challenging commission of inquiry in CNG fitness certificate scam,” the Bench said while posting the matter for further hearing on September 23.

During the brief hearing, senior advocate Kirti Uppal, appearing for petitioner Sandeep Tiwari, said Delhi government had appointed nominee directors on the boards of <g data-gr-id="25">discoms</g> through June 18 notification, which should be declared null and void as no prior approval of LG was taken.

He said that as per the Union Home Ministry notification of May 21, 2015, all the executive appointment are required to be made by or with the approval of the LG, Delhi.

“It is therefore submitted that the said appointment of private members/non-bureaucrats as the nominee directors on the board of three <g data-gr-id="29">discoms</g> is complete arbitrary and in violations of the constitutional and statutory provisions and such liable to be quashed by this court,” the PIL said.
Next Story
Share it