Millennium Post

Antony, Veerendra Kumar file papers for Rajya Sabha polls

Senior Congress leader and former defence minister A K Antony and JD(U) state president M P Veerendra Kumar today filed nomination papers as UDF nominees for the biennial Rajya Sabha polls from Kerala.

Both Antony and Veerendara Kumar submitted their nomination papers to State Legislature secretary P D Sarangadharam at the Legislature secretariat here. UDF leaders, including Chief Minister Oommen Chandy, KPCC President V M Sudheeran, Home Minister Ramesh Chennithala, KC-M leader K M Mani and IUML leader and Industries Minister P K Kunhalikutty were among those present on the occasion. Three seats from Kerala will fall vacant in the Upper House as the terms of Congress leader Antony, CPI(M) leaders T N Seema and K N Balagopal are due to expire this month.

Of the three seats, ruling Congress led-UDF can win two and CPI(M)-led LDF opposition one, based on the strength of the legislators of both the fronts.

Meanwhile, the opposition LDF has decided to allot the lone RS seat that the Front can win to the CPI(M). The party has nominated former Kollam District Secretary K S Somaprasad as its candidate. Election for the RS seats will be held on March 21.

The last date for filing of nomination is March 11 and withdrawal on March 14. Biennial elections to 13 Rajya Sabha seats in six states, including Assam and Kerala, will be held on March 21. Twelve of the 13 seats are falling vacant in April.
Next Story
Share it