Millennium Post

Amla in line again for SA Cricketer of the Year title

South Africa batsman Hashim Amla has been nominated in the Cricketer of the Year category for the second year in a row.

Amla has been nominated along with the likes of AB de Villiers, Morne Morkel, Dale Steyn and Vernon Philander.

The winner will be announced by Cricket South Africa (CSA) at a gala function here on June 6.

Besides SA Cricketer of the Year, the newly-appointed Proteas' Twenty20 and One-Day International captain de Villiers has also earned nominations in two other categories -- ODI Cricketer of the Year and Test Cricketer of the Year.

De Villiers currently averages close to fifty in both the One-dayers as well as the Tests. He was also the leading run-scorer for the Caste Lager Proteas with a highest score of 160 against Sri Lanka this season.

Morkel, who was Proteas' leading wicket-taker in T20 and ODI cricket, has also earned nominations in three categories -- T20 Cricketer of the Year, ODI Cricketer of the Year and SA Cricketer of the Year.

His ODI career-best haul of five for 38 against New Zealand in Napier capped off a superb season for him.

Faf du Plessis has been rewarded for his all-round performances on the domestic scene this season as he has got nominations in the One-Day Cup Cricketer of the Year, T20 Cricketer of the Year and the Supersport Series Cricketer of the Year categories.
Temba Bavuma of the provincial side Lions has also been nominated for the SuperSport Series Cricketer of the Year alongside teammate Alviro Petersen.

The Proteas' explosive debutant, Richard Levi has been nominated for the International T20 Cricketer of Year as well as the KFC "So Good" Award for his record?breaking 117 against New Zealand in Hamilton.

Shandre Fritz leads the nominations for the CSA Women's Cricketer of the Year award for her stellar performances for both the national team and her provincial side of Western Province.

This is her second consecutive nomination for the award and she goes up against Western Province teammate Shabnim Ismail, who was a star with the ball in the 2011/2012 season.

The third nominee is Trisha Chetty, who won the award in 2009.

Chetty has produced exceptional performances both with bat and gloves for her province, KwaZulu-Natal, and for the national team.
Next Story
Share it