Ajmal returns from wilderness, picked for Bangladesh series

Ajmal returns from wilderness, picked for Bangladesh series
The new national selection committee headed by Haroon Rasheed named separate squads for the Test, ODIs and Twenty20 matches in Bangladesh and Ajmal found a place in all three sides. The selectors axed experienced players Umar Akmal, Nasir Jamshed and restricted opener Ahmed Shehzad to the T20 format only while announcing the squads for the Bangladesh tour which begins tentatively from April 17 with three one-day matches followed by two Tests and a T20 match.

Saeed’s modified bowling action was cleared just before the World Cup. Saeed’s new action is yet to be tested in competitive cricket after his bowling action was declared illegal by the ICC last September during the tour of Sri Lanka. Also back is experienced all-rounder Muhammad Hafeez, who had to return home from New Zealand before the World Cup due to fitness problems.

SQUADS Test: Misbah-ul-Haq (c), Babar Azam, Mohammad Hafeez, Sami Aslam, Asad Shafiq, Azhar Ali, Younis Khan, Haris Sohail, Saeed Ajmal, Yasir Shah, Zulfiqar Babar, Sarfraz Ahmed, Wahab Riaz, Junaid Khan, Sohail Khan, Rahat Ali.

ODI: Azhar Ali (c), Sami Aslam, Sarfraz Ahmed, Mohammad Hafeez, Asad Shafiq, Fawad Alam, Mohammad Rizwan, Haris Sohail, Sohaib Maqsood, Saeed Ajmal, Yasir Shah, Wahab Riaz, Rahat Ali, Ehsan Adil, Sohail Khan

Twenty20: Shahid Afridi (c), Ahmed Shehzad, Sarfraz Ahmed, Mohammad Hafeez, Mukhtar Ahmed, Sohaib Maqsood, Haris Sohail, Mohammad Rizwan, Saeed Ajmal, Saad Nasim, Sohail Tanveer, Wahab Riaz, Sohail Khan, Umar Gul, Junaid Khan.
Share it