Millennium Post

AAP to tweak candidate selection process for polls

AAP to tweak candidate selection process for polls
According to sources, the party has decided to give all the powers to political affairs committee to finalise the names of the candidates. The names of some of the ‘important faces’ have already been decided and at least three MLAs are set to be replaced.

It is pertinent to mention that AAP had devised a transparent process of selection of candidates during the last Delhi assembly election held in 2013 which involved four steps — a resident of Delhi having support of 100 voters could apply with all his details, the applications were to be scrutinised by a screening committee which would finalise five names for each constituency, these names were made public for comments from cadres and general public to shortlist candidates.

Finally the political affairs committee will interview these five candidates to finalise candidate for the MLA constituency, the entire process takes around two months. AAP claimed to follow this process in the last assembly election but it was questioned by rival MLA Vinod Kumar Binny after he resigned from the post. The process received much criticism within the party during Lok Sabha election held recently.

In the run up to coming Delhi assembly election, AAP is facing problems deciding mainly on 28 MLA seats it had won in the last assembly elections. ‘It would be politically a wrong step to take a blanket decision on these seats,’ said a senior AAP leader.

‘However, most of the sitting MLAs are likely to be repeated,’ he added. According to sources, the party has given up the entire process of candidate selection followed during the last election but now PAC of the party will take final call on each seat and only final names would be made public.

‘Those who were neglected may turn against the party and sabotage the chances victory,’ he added.
So far the MLAs who are most likely to be replaced include Vinod Kumar Binny from Laxmi Nagar who openly criticised party convener Arvind Kejriwal, Rohini MLA Rajesh Garg and Timarpur MLA Harish Khanna. Garg may be replaced for criticising the ‘autocratic approach’ of Kejriwal but Khanna has recently revealed ‘he is not interested’ to contest. Besides these three, almost all the MLAs would be repeated.

However, party will also repeat some candidates who lost with narrow margins. Kejriwal had already shown his interest to contest from New Delhi. Besides, him former ministers would also be repeated. Hardly two dozen seats are available for new entrants this time which would also include some MP candidates. The first list of candidates is likely to be declared by month end.

Next Story
Share it