Millennium Post

AAP releases 5th LS candidates list

AAP releases 5th LS candidates list
Former Indian Police Service (IPS) officer Suresh Khopade will be the AAP candidate who will take on NCP chief Sharad Pawar’s daughter Supriya Sule from Baramati in Maharashtra.

The party declared candidates in the states of Assam (6), Bihar (8), Gujarat (2), Kerela (6), Maharashtra (17), Madhya Pradesh (7), Uttar Pradesh (9) and from Himachal Pradesh (1).

From Maharashtra, two police officers will enter the electoral fray on AAP ticket. Khopade, who will fight against Sule from Sharad Pawar’s bastion in Baramati in Western Maharashtra, is a former Police Commissioner of Railways.

Sanjay Apranti, another officer from state police service, will contest from Raigad, a seat currently represented by Shiv Sena MP Anant Gite. The Maharashtra police website states that Apranti has been kept on ‘compulsory waiting’. He has also served as SP Raigad.

From Hatkanangle, a seat in Western Maharashtra, AAP has given ticket to farmer leader Raghunath Patil. The seat is represented by Raju Shetti of the Swabhimani Shetkari Sanghtana, with whom AAP was keen for a tie-up but the former chose to go with saffron alliance.

From Bihar, former JDU member and National secretary of All India Safai Mazdoor Sangh, Geeta Arya will contest from Sasaram, a seat currently represented by Lok Sabha speaker Meira Kumar. Arya had joined the party just before the elections.

From Kerala, party has given ticket to former TIME journalist Anita Pratap from Ernakulam, a seat represented by union minister KV Thomas. Kamal Kant Batra, mother of Kargil martyr Captain Vikram Batra, will contest from Hamirpur, a seat held by BJP MP and Bhartiya Janta Yuva Morcha president  and former state CM Prem Kumar Dhumal’s son Anurag Thakur. AAP has so far declared names of 187 candidates for the upcoming Lok Sabha elections.
Next Story
Share it