Millennium Post

AAP announces 7 more candidates for Goa polls

Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) on Thursday released a list of seven more candidates for the upcoming Assembly polls in Goa, taking to 11 the number of its nominees to the 40-member House so far.

The formal announcement was made after AAP’s Parliamentary Affairs Committee in Delhi cleared the list.
53-year-old Devendra Prabhu Parsekar Desai, a former MGP leader and teacher has been fielded from North Goa’s Mandrem constituency which is represented by Chief Minister Laxmikant Parsekar and considered a BJP bastion for sometime now.

Desai had left MGP to join AAP recently and is also associated with the People for Mopa movement supporting the construction of international airport in Pernem taluka.

With the release of the current list, AAP has till now announced a total of 11 candidates for the 40 seats in Goa Assembly. AAP is contesting all the seats. It had announced the first list of four candidates last month.

Former Congress MLA Giovanni Karl Vaz will contest from Mormugao constituency, which is currently represented by the BJP. Vaz was a Congress legislator between 2002-2007 before losing the assembly elections. His father was also a MLA from Mormugao constituency.

AAP also announced the candidature of Olencio John Simoes, a fishermen leader and teacher by profession, in Cortalim constituency. 
Next Story
Share it