Millennium Post

Aamir, Alia, dangal bag top honours at Filmfare Awards

The 62nd Jio Filmfare Awards 2017 was held on January 14, 2017 in Mumbai. The star-studded award ceremony saw performances of many multi-talented super stars and some who bagged the ‘Black Lady’. Let’s have a look at the winner’s list at a glance.

Superstar Aamir Khan bagged the best actor honour, for his movie Dangal, which was adjudged as the best film at the 62nd Jio Filmfare Awards. The best actor title was won by Alia Bhatt for her performance in Udta Punjab.

Veteran filmmaker Mahesh Bhatt congratulated his ‘little big girl’ Alia Bhatt for her big win at the Filmfare Awards, and gave her some words of wisdom. Mahesh tweeted: “Alia, once you become fearless life becomes limitless. Congratulations to you my little big girl!” Her sister Pooja Bhatt also lauded her skills as an actor, and said that it is the “beginning of many more to come”.

The best director award went to Nitesh Tiwari for Dangal, which is based on the life of Haryana wrestler Mahavir Phogat and his daughters. The awards, held on Saturday, was hosted by Karan Johar, Shah Rukh Khan and Kapil Sharma. Sonam Kapoor bagged the critics choice award for Neerja. She essayed the late valiant flight attendant Neerja Bhanot, who lost her life while saving others on a hijacked Pan Am plane in Karachi.

Sonam tweeted: “Winning the best actor award for Neerja, was a truly special moment... But it was made more special because Aanand L Rai gave it to me... love you sir. Thank you Filmfare. I’ll forever cherish this moment.” The Ram Madhvani-directed biopic also bagged the critics award for best film.

The best actor, critics choice, was shared by Shahid Kapoor for his role as a drug addict rockstar in Udta Punjab and Manoj Bajpayee for Aligarh. Shahid extended his gratitude to director and the writer of the movie.“Thank you Abhishek Chaubey and Sudip Sharma for conceiving Tommy Singh. The Filmfare trophy belongs to you first. #drugsdimadi #whosthegabru,” he wrote. Rishi Kapoor bagged the best actor in a supporting role for Kapoor and Sons. Shababa Azmi was honoured for Neerja in the female category of the award.

Filmfare Lifetime Achievement Award was given to Shatrughan Sinha. Ashwini Iyer Tiwari took home the best debut director for Nil Battey Sannata, which starred Swara Bhaskar in the lead.

Punjabi superstar Diljit Dosanjh bagged the best debut male, for Udta Punjab and Ritika Singh’s performance as a budding boxer got her the best female debut for Saala Khadoos. Karan Johar-backed Kapoor and Sons bagged titles best screenplay, best story, shared by Shakun Batra and Ayesha Devitre Dhillon and also took home the honours in background music, shared by Udta Punjab.

With powerful lines, including “No means No”, which highlighted the issue of consent, Pink bagged the best dialogues award penned by Ritesh Shah. The ceremony saw a host of performances by Salman Khan, Sonakshi Sinha, Alia, Tiger Shroff, Varun Dhawan, among others. 
Next Story
Share it