Millennium Post

813 detained during bandh in Delhi

As many as 813 people were detained during the BJP-called protest  across the city on Thursday.

'There were no incidents of violence anywhere,' said Rajan Bhagat, Delhi police spokesperson. He said, by and large, the protest was peaceful.

Those found to be indulging in unlawful activities were detained but released a few hours later. As many as 3,500 paramilitary personnel, apart from Delhi Police personnel, were deployed on the streets in the capital. 'It was all done to assure peace in the city,' added Bhagat.

Maximum number of people, 229, were detained only from Central district. Among them were BJP councillor Simmi Jain, CPI (M) leader AB Vardhan, JDU leader Harvinder Singh Rai and Mukti Morcha leader Tanvir Ahmed.

Vardhan was detained along with 82 supporters from Daryaganj area and released an hour later.

Besides this, around 215 people were detained, for at least three hours, from Rajouri Garden, Moti Nagar, Tilak Nagar, Vikaspuri and Nangloi area of west district.

BJP president Jai Prakash (Chandni Chowk zone) was detained from the area, along with 14 supporters. BJP MP Anant Kumar was also been detained with 29 others from Kotwali area. As many as 63 people were detained from north district during their protest march in the area.

Around 20 BJP MLAs were detained while they were demonstrating outside the Vidhan Sabha against the Congress-led UPA government, said a police officer.

At least 63 people were detained from the east district and 55 persons, including BJP MP Mukhtar Abbas Naqvi, were detained for an hour, along with 55 supporters, from Pandav Nagar area. Eight persons were detained from Shakarpur.

Two BJP councillors-Sanjay Jain and Manoj Tyagi-were detained along with 71 supporters from new Usmanpur and Nandnagari area, respectively. As many as 50 people were detained from south district's Mehrauli area.

BJP leader Rajan Tiwari was detained along with 37 persons from southwest's Narayana area. BJP MLA Anil Jha was held while he was demonstrating against the government at Aman Vihar area. Another BJP MLA was detained, along with 80 supporters, from Ashok Vihar area.

CPI(M) general secretary Prakash Karat, Sitaram Yechury and BJP leader Sanjay Joshi were also detained with their supporters.

No detentions were reported from New Delhi and South-East Delhi districts during the day, he said.
Next Story
Share it