700 companies of Central force to ensure free and fair election

Seven hundred companies of Central force along with 25,000 additional state police will be deployed to ensure free and fair election in the third phase on April 21. 

Majority of the Central forces have been deployed in respective areas and they have begun confidence boosting exercise of the voters. Polling will be held in 62 Assembly constituencies. Of these, two are in Murshidabad, 16 in Burdwan, 17 in Nadia and seven are in Kolkata north. 

Around 1.37 crore people will exercise their franchise. There are 16, 461 polling stations of which there are 10 auxiliary polling stations. The polling will decide the fate of 418 candidates. There will be around 18,930 EVMs. In Chowringhee constituency, 1,214 VVPAT machine will be installed. 

Senior officials of Election Commission said that every step had been taken to ensure free and fair election. There will be 194 RT mobile and 100 HRFS mobile. There will be 236 Quick Response Team. In addition to this there will be 196 specially equipped MC mobile vans. There will be 190 flying squads which will patrol during the election. The polling will start at 7 am and will continue till 6pm. EC officials said there will be 197 static surveillance teams. For four districts, 220 check posts have been installed where vehicles will be checked by police personnel. The vehicles carrying Central force personnel will contain “Central force” sticker. 

Dibyendu Sarkar, additional chief electoral officer, said in 549 polling stations there would be webcasting facilities. One thousand five and thirty one polling stations will be under CCTV coverage. In 2,425 polling stations, videography will be done. In 1,516 polling stations digital cameras will be installed.  He said there would be 376 micro observers. Most of the officers are from central government and public sector. They will be provided ill cell phones. They will visit the polling stations and will report the activities directly to the general observers. In addition to this, 22 LMS vehicles fitted with sophisticated instruments and camera which are driven by central forces will partrol in different areas.

The helpline number for Kolkata north is 18003455057. For Burdwan it is 18003453244, while for Nadia and Murshidabad they are 18003453269 and 03482274077 respectively. 

The Election Commission of India on Tuesday transferred the officers in charge of Domkal in Murshidabad and Shantipur in Nadia districts on charges of showing favour.
M Post Bureau

M Post Bureau

Our contributor helps bringing the latest updates to you


View All

Latest News

View All
Share it