Millennium Post

5 new Delhi HC judges sworn in

Five new judges of the Delhi High Court were sworn in on Tuesday, taking the strength of judges there to 39 as against the sanctioned strength of 60.

Justices Vinod Goel, Chander Shekhar, Anu Malhotra, Yogesh Khanna and Anil Kumar Chawla were sworn in by High Court Chief Justice G Rohini.

Justice Goel and Justice Shekhar were till now working as the Registrar General and Registrar (Vigilance) at the Delhi High Court. The other three judges were elevated from the trial courts. Justice Yogesh Khanna tried the December 16, 2012 gang-rape case in which he awarded death sentences to four convicted men. 

He was previously a District and Sessions judge at the Rohini District Court. Justice Anu Malhotra was elevated from the District Court at Saket where she was previously a District and Sessions judge. Justice A.K. Chawla was previously a district judge at the Tis Hazari Courts.
Next Story
Share it