Millennium Post

4 JD(U) MLAs disqualified for anti-party activities

Four JD(U) MLAs were disqualified today from the Bihar Legislative Assembly for anti-party activities, the Assembly secretary in-charge Hareram Mukhiya said. Speaker Uday Narayan Chaudhary passed the verdict in his court in the presence of four JD(U) MLAs against whom the ruling party had initiated proceedings for termination of their membership for anti-party activities, he told PTI. The disqualified JD(U) MLAs are - Ajit Kumar (Kanti, Muzaffarpur), Raju Singh (Sahebganj, Muzaffarpur), Poonam Devi Yadav (Khagaria) and Suresh Chanchal (Sakra, Muzaffarpur).

Chaudhary disqualified these four rebel JD(U) MLAs under the provisions of the anti-defection law, Mukhiya said. The Speaker had reserved his order on disqualification proceedings against these four JD(U) MLAs last month, the Legislative Assembly secretary in-charge said. The disqualified MLA Suresh Chanchal said that the aggrieved legislators were not given proper chance to present their case during hearing of disqualification proceedings against them.

The Speaker had passed a unilateral verdict after meting out similar treatment to his four other erstwhile colleagues, Chanchal said. He said that they would move a court challenging their disqualification from the House as all of them had faith in the judiciary. The JD(U) Chief Whip Shrawan Kumar welcomed the Speaker’s decision on a proceeding initiated by him and said that the disqualified lawmakers deserved punishment for working against their party. 
Next Story
Share it