Millennium Post

3-member panel to monitor content of govt ads

The Centre has formed a three-member committee, headed by former Chief Election Commissioner BB Tandon, to check violations of the Supreme Court guidelines with regard to content in government advertising.

Apart from Tandon, the other two members of the committee are senior journalist Rajat Sharma and Piyush Pandey, Executive Chairman South Asia, Ogilvy and Mather. The committee would also recommend corrective action to the Ministry or Department.

The Information and Broadcasting ministry, in a statement, said in compliance with the Supreme Court directions dated May 13, 2015, it had constituted the committee to address issues related to content regulation in government advertising. The SC had in its May 13, 2015 order laid down a criteria as per which government advertisements can only carry pictures of certain dignitaries like the President, Prime Minister and the Chief Justice of India.
Next Story
Share it