Millennium Post

199 non-coal mines identified for auction, informs Tomar

Government on Monday said it has identified 199 mines containing minerals such as iron ore, bauxite and manganese ore that can be allocated through the auction route and the process would be started soon.

"According to our preliminary estimates, 199 mines can be auctioned. We have already started working out the modalities for auctions," Mines and Steel Minister Narendra Singh Tomar said here.

"A lot of homework will be done. Our intention is to start auctioning as soon as possible," he said after a meeting with the mines ministers of states on the Mines and Minerals (Development and Regulation) (Amendment) Ordinance, 2015.

The 199 mines, which can be auctioned, are located in the mineral-rich states such as Karnataka, Madhya Pradesh, Odisha, Gujarat and Maharashtra and contain minerals such as iron ore, bauxite, limestone and manganese ore, he said.

The rules and modalities of the auction would be brought out soon in consultation with the states and "it can not be done tomorrow", Tomar added. Mines Secretary Anup Pujari said that from now on all mines would be allocated through the auction route only, but in cases where the Centre has given concurrence or the states have conveyed "letter of intent by whatever name it is called" to allottees, seamless transaction can happen in those cases.

The Ordinance will be taken up in the forthcoming session of Parliament to bring in efficiency and raise production in the sector, Tomar said, adding that the government hopes all political parties would support it.

The Union Cabinet had on January 5 approved an ordinance paving the road for introduction of auctioning of iron ore and other minerals.

Scrap mining lease extension clause from ordinance: Odisha

Odisha on Monday demanded scrapping of the mining lease extension provision in Mines Ordinance, saying such extensions will deprive states of crucial financial resources.

“As the existing leases have no vested right for second and subsequent renewal and considering the fact that they have already enjoyed the largesse of mineral concessions for more than 50 years, the state government has decided not to grant second or subsequent renewal,” Odisha Mines Minister Prafulla Kumar Mallik said here.
Next Story
Share it