15 IPS officers reshuffled in state

Sarkar, the IPS officer of 1997 batch, had been in the Kolkata Police for a long time and he had served as the Joint Commissioner of Police (Traffic) before taking up the charge of Joint Commissioner of Police (Headquarters) replacing Rajeev Mishra in December 2015. On Thursday he became the Additional Commissioner of Police-III.

In other major changes in the Kolkata Police, Pallab Kanti Ghosh, who was the Special Additional Commissioner and Joint Commissioner (Intelligence), has become the Inspector General of Police (telecommunication), and Sankar Dutta, Special Additional Commissioner and Joint Commissioner (PRB) of the Kolkata Police has been made the Inspector General of Police (State Crime Record Bureau).

Rajesh Kumar Singh, Special IG and DIG of Burdwan Range has become the IG Burdwan range. K Jayaraman is the new Director of the Police Academy of the state police. Kalyan Kumar Mallick has become the IG of the Enforcement Branch (EB). He was special IG and DIG of EB.

Basab Dasgupta, who was DIG (Home Guards) has been made the DIG (Border) and Ajit Kumar Sarkar has become the new DIG (Home Guards). Jayanta Kumar Pal has become the DIG of Malda Range and Ongmu Gyamtsho has become the new SS, IB in Siliguri replacing Pal.

Rashid Munir Khan has been made the CO of SAP’s second battalion. In another reshuffle in the IPS cadre in West Bengal, four IPS officers, who were sent to compulsory waiting 15 days ago, were reinstated in crucial positions on June 9.



Our contributor helps bringing the latest updates to you

Share it