Millennium Post

... And Congress gives scam-tainted Bansal ticket to ride poll wagon

... And Congress gives  scam-tainted Bansal ticket to ride poll wagon
The Congress has included 11 women candidates in this list and one-third of the tickets have been given to young candidates. Despite resigning from his post as railway minister, Pawan Kumar Bansal’s name featured in the list.  His nephew Vijay Singla is an accused in the bribery scandal. Bansal will contest from Chandigarh on Congress ticket despite the taint. Recently, Singla and nine others were arrested in the Rs 10 crore cash-for-post railway bribery case.

The Congress has given tickets to a total of 11 women candidates and in this list named former Uttar Pradesh Congress chief Rita Bahuguna Joshi as the candidate from Lucknow. Actress Naghma will contest from Meerut constituency. Actor-turned-politician Raj Babbar will be fighting the election from Ghaziabad. Begum Noor Bano is the candidate from Moradabad, which was earlier represented by cricketer Mohammad Azharuddin in the 15th Lok Sabha. According to sources, Azharuddin is expected to get a ticket from West Bengal.

Joint Parliamentary Committee chairman PC Chacko will be contesting from Chalakudy in Kerala. Union minister KV Thomas will fight from Ernakulam (Kerala) and Shashi Tharoor will be contesting from Thiruvananthapuram (Kerala) and V Narayanasamy from Puducherry. Former union minister Subodh Kant Sahay will contest from Ranchi (Jharkhand) while Youth Congress President Rajiv Satav has got the ticket from Hingoli in Maharashtra.
Next Story
Share it