Millennium Post

Two Seemandhra ministers tender resignations to Guv

Opposing the proposed bifurcation of Andhra Pradesh, two cabinet ministers from Seemandhra Monday submitted their resignations to Governor E.S.L. Narasimhan.

Minister for infrastructure and investment G Srinivasa Rao and law minister E Pratap Reddy met the governor at Raj Bhavan and submitted their resignations with a request to accept them. However, the governor said he would send their resignations to chief minister N. Kiran Kumar Reddy and act according to his recommendation.

The two ministers later told reporters that they decided to join the ongoing ‘Samaikya Andhra’ or united Andhra agitation. ‘We can’t continue on our posts when people are on streets to oppose the state’s division,’ said Srinivasa Rao.

Both minister said they would continue as members of the state legislative assembly to vote against formation of separate Telangana state when a resolution is brought before the house.
Next Story
Share it