Trinamool elbows out Cong from Murshidabad Zila Parishad

The no-confidence motion was signed by 43 Trinamool Congress members. Congress and CPI(M) members abstained from voting.

The state transport minister Suvendu Adhikari who is in charge of the district party affairs of 
Trinamool Congress was on Friday present in Murshidabad. The new Sabadhipati is likely to be chosen within a week. During the voting, District Magistrate Ratnakar Rao was present as a representative of the Commissioner, Presidency Range. The District Magistrate said that in the 70-member Zilla Parishad, two members had earlier resigned. Out of the 68 members, 43 voted to remove the Sabhadhipati. He said he would present a detailed report on Friday’s election and removal of Sabadhipati to the Commissioner, Presidency Range.

Friday’s no-confidence motion deals a major blow to Congress in Murshidabad. The Zilla Parishad was considered a stronghold of WBPCC president Adhir Chowdhury. By making secret deals with CPI(M), Chowdhury was able to keep Trinamool Congress at bay. Suvendu Adhikari was made in-charge of the district by Trinamool Congress supremo Mamata Banerjee. In the last Assembly election, Trinamool Congress bagged four seats. Of the seven municipalities, five are now under the party’s control. These are Jangipur, Jiagung- Azimgung, Kandi, Beldanga and Behrampore. The party has already taken over the Zilla Parishad in Malda.

TMC district president Mannan Hossain said the permanent committees would be set up soon. He said leaders had realised that without carrying out development work in their respective areas, it was not possible for them to engage in politics. He said plans would be made for comprehensive development of the area.

Adhikari said various development schemes launched by the Mamata Banerjee government would continue to attract more leaders from the Opposition parties. Adhir Chowdhury, however, said, “Trinamool is playing dirty politics and spending huge amount of money to buy Zilla Parishad members.”
Next Story
Share it