Millennium Post

TMC bags Bankura, Daspur

The ruling Trinamool Congress (TMC) on Friday retained both the Bankura and Daspur seats in the by-election results announced on Friday. Trinamool candidate Minati Mishra defeated CPI(M)’s Nilanjan Dasgupta in Bankura by a margin of 15,139 votes. This is politically being looked at as a setback for the CPI(M) in the state.

Samar Mukherjee, another Left candidate was defeated by TMC’s Mamata Bhunia in Daspur constituency with a margin of 18,898 votes. The by-elections to Bankura and Daspur in the Maoist-hit districts were caused by the death of TMC legislators there. The late Kashinath Mishra of TMC had won the Bankura seat last year by defeating the CPI(M) candidate by a margin of 29,090 votes while the late Ajit Bhunia of TMC had defeated his CPI(M) rival in Daspur by a margin of about 25,000 votes. While Minati is widow of the late Kashinath Mishra, Mamata Bhunia is the widow of teh late Ajit Bhunia.The margin of the winning candidates though has diminished this time.

Around 67 percent of the electorate exercised their franchise on 12 June in the by-elections at Bankura while the figure was 73 percent at Daspur. The BJP too had fielded its candidates in both the seats. The Congress, however, did not put up  a candidate in any of the two seats.
Next Story
Share it